Safety and Emissions Inspections
All gasoline vehicles, 2-24 years old registered in Texas must have an annual inspection and emissions test verifying they meet Texas standards of safety and emissions. Diesel-powered vehicles and motorcycles are exempt, but still must have annual safety inspections.
Do You Have Your Current Insurance Card?
Texans are required to show proof of liability insurance and a photo ID, normally your driver’s license at the time of inspection. In order for us to begin a state inspection we need your current insurance card. You might be surprised how often the insurance card in your glove box is expired. Several times a day we have insurance cards faxed to us from agents for customers. We also have internet and printers if you can print from an online account. Having your current insurance card can also save you from getting an additional ticket if pulled over.
Check Engine Light
If the check engine light is on there is an emission related issue with your vehicle. Your state inspection will not pass and an oil change will not make the check engine light disappear. We will scan the On Board Diagnostic (OBD) system and help you understand the cause of the problem. We do this free of charge so do not spend money to see if the light is a major problem. Many repairs are minor and not expensive.
Most inspections take less than 30 minutes. Avoid the rush and have your inspection performed during the middle of the month, from the 13th through the 26th.
Within the month of the inspection sticker expiring, you must get the vehicle re-inspected. There is a five-day grace period at the beginning of the following month. If you forget to have your car inspected and you past the grace period, you’re at risk of getting pulled over and getting costly tickets and fines.
We test the emission controls of the vehicle by connecting our inspection machine to your vehicle’s onboard computer. This test informs us of any error codes or computer faults that may affect your vehicle emission system. Once we have the “green light” on all safety and emissions testing, we can issue the vehicle another one-year certificate sticker.
Texas requires that all problems must be fixed within a 15 day period and to have the inspection performed again to prevent any additional fees.
If your car has the “check engine” light, “service engine soon” light, or any other malfunction indicator lights on, it will immediately fail inspection. Because State law states that payment is due whether you pass or fail, we do everything we can to make sure your car meets regulatory standards, before we start your inspection and test.
We verify and review safety items such as:
- Windshield Wipers
- Seat Belts
- Brakes System
- Parking Brakes, beginning with 1960 models
- Wheel Assembly
- Exhaust System
- Exhaust Emission System, beginning with 1968 models
- Beam Indicator, beginning with 1948 models
- Two Tail Lamps; one if 1959 model or earlier
- Two Stop Lamps; one, if 1959 model or earlier
- One License Plate Lamp
- Two Rear Red Reflectors
- Turn Signal Lamps, beginning with 1960 models
- Two Head Lamps
- Motor, Serial, or Vehicle Identification Number
- Window tinting or coating, beginning with 1988 models
- Gas caps on vehicles 2-24 model years old.
- Serpentine Belt